Username: Password: Remember me
Visual Objects

Please use this forum to post questions about Visual Objects and Vulcan.NET
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Assembly in VO 10 Dec 2021 06:04 #20742

• robert.pope
  • Topic Author

• Probably a crazy question, in an area where I have no experience, but I figure I'll ask anyway...

Is there any way to write snippets of assembly in VO?

I need to do a bit of 64 bit arithmetic on some FILETIME structures (docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/a...-minwinbase-filetime). Every forum post I read for C++ says that the C++ runtime has long contained support for 64 bit calculations on a 32 bit process. As far as I'm aware VO uses the C++ runtime (at least we ship it with our app), so I'm wondering if I might be able to directly access some of those instructions.

I know C++ has some support for embedding assembly (en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/asm), I don't suppose VO has some hidden feature to allow that, without essentially writing a virus?

I'll probably just end up providing the 64 bit arithmetic functions via a C++ DLL taking _WINULARGE_INTEGER structures as parameters. My first thought was to write a 64 bit adder in VO. I figured this might still be an interesting question to have answered, however.

Any other suggestions?
    Cheers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by robert.pope.

Assembly in VO 10 Dec 2021 07:31 #20743

• wriedmann

• Hi Robert,
    of course you can write a DLL in VO to use in X# or C#.
    But be aware that VO is 32 bit only, so this limits your X# application to 32 bit too.
    The only possibility to overcome this bitness gap is to build a COM module in VO and use that in X#.
    But IMHO the .NET framework has much more possibilities than VO.
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

Assembly in VO 10 Dec 2021 08:13 #20745

• robert.pope
    • Topic Author

• Hi Wolfgang.